Feb-Birchbox-Ipsy

Better late than never, right? I figured before the end of the month rolled around I had better get it together and post a review on my February Birchbox and Ipsy Glambags. If you have zero idea of what I’m talking about, there are monthly subscription boxes for just about everything these days! I’ll go over a few of the best in my next post….today, I’m going to review what I got in February.

First up, the February Birchbox. This month’s theme was Red Carpet Ready – how perfect since the Oscars are tonight!

bbox

Products included in my Birchbox are:Ghirardelli Milk & Caramel Square (you don’t see this in the picture because my hubby stole it straight away.) Yummy.

twistband Headband: I’m not a huge fan of these twistband thingys, I think they stretch out and the ends fray pretty badly. The jury is still out on this one.


Dr. Jart+ Black Label Detox BB Cream
: I really wanted to Love this! And I do love it, but the shade is just way off for me. I did try it, and I felt like I looked orange all day – not cool! I think it’s a great product, but not so much on my pasty winter skin.  I will stick with my Smashbox BB Cream – it’s incredible!

Dr. Lipp Original Nipple Balm for Lips: At first I couldn’t believe that Birchbox sent me nipple/lip balm, BUT, after trying this I was totally sold! This lip balm makes my lips super soft, plump and gives them a lovely rosy seen. I actually purchased the full size of this one! You can find it here.

Beauty Protector Protect & Detangle: This was another good one! This leave-in mist detangles, shields hair from heat and damage, and is completely vegan! A little goes a long way, but this made my hair super soft and shiny. I purchased the full size version of this one too – find it here.

Next up, the February Ispy Glambag. This is only my second Ipsy bag and I was fairly impressed. While Birchbox sometimes adds food or ‘lifestyle’ samples, Ipsy is all about makeup and beauty products, which is awesome. Here’s the breakdown:

ipsy

Coastal Scents Shadow Palette Sample: First time trying Coastal Scents and I give it a solid B. The colors are nicely pigmented, but I had a lot of fallout onto my skin as I was applying it. I’ll use this sample, but I wouldn’t purchase from this company. Doesn’t compare to Urban Decay, although not much does when it comes to eye shadow!

PIXI Flawless & Poreless Primer: This was a nice size sample and a great product. I do use a facial primer (by Smashbox) so this one will be great for travel or when wanting to switch it up a bit. Target actually sells some of the PIXI line if you are looking for it.

POP Beauty Smokey Lash Kapow Mascara: Not too impressed with this mascara. It doesn’t coat all that well and I feel like it started to flake off by the end of my day. I’ll save this for weekends.

MICA Beauty Gel Eyeliner: This is my first foray into the gel eyeliner world and I love it! This was a great sized sample and I will definitely use it! The full size of this gel eyeliner retails for $30 bucks! Great sample!

The Lash Card, Lash Cards: These are junk. Who wants something else to hold while trying to apply mascara? Not me, that’s for sure!

So that’s the skinny on my subscription boxes for the month of February. I have to give Birchbox the A this month, because I liked 2 of the samples so much, it made me purchase the full size products. Ipsy was great, but nothing that I need the full size. Interested in subscribing to either Birchbox or Ipsy? Use the links below!

BIRCHBOX (use this link, please! if I refer friends I get a few extra Birchbox points – bonus!)
IPSY (no bonus points here, just sign up!)

xoxo,
Jackie

