Happy Friday, everyone! Today the topic is my go-to Friday hairstyle, the sock bun! For those of you on Pinterest, perhaps you’ve seen the sock bun featured here and there, as well as in a few tutorials out there. I’ve included a link to a great YouTube tutorial below. So, the sock bun is pretty simple…but it might take a few tries to get it right the first time, so don’t get discouraged!

Materials Needed:
scissors
– 1 tube sock or boot sock (preferably one that is close to your hair color)
– Bobby pins
– Styling crème (if your hair requires it)

How to Create a Sock Bun:
Step 1:  Cut the foot area off the sock. Go ahead and toss the footie, you won’t need it.
Step 2:  Roll the sock outward, until it resembles a donut.
Step 3:  Place your hair in a ponytail at the place you want the sock bun to rest. If you want more volume, here is when you can use a rat-tail comb to lift sections up on the top of your head.  (here is also where you can use styling cream to help create a smooth look prior to putting your hair in a pony tail.)
Step 4:  Place your ponytail through the middle of your sock-donut. Wrap ends under the sock and roll the edges of your hair under until you reach your head.
Step 5:  Make sure to spread the hair around the sock so it’s covered completely.
Step 6:  Secure with bobby pins.
Step 7:  Look fabulous!

Don’t worry about loose ends, you can either leave them loose for a more ‘undone’ look, or secure them around the sock bun with bobby pins. The sock bun is the perfect solution to creating a fast, full, great-looking bun, no matter what your hair type. I’ve even used this technique with wet hair if I need to get out of the house in a really big hurry.

As you can see, I wore my sock bun pretty high on my head today. And I also use a little bit of dry shampoo on my hair before creating my sock bun…all depends on your hair type.

Wendy from Wendy’s Look Book has one of the best tutorials for you visual learners!  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OIBMx3N-BJc

Good luck, ladies! Let me know in the comments if you have any questions, or if you’ve given the sock bun a try and how it’s worked for you!

xoxo,
Jackie

