For my inaugural post I’m writing about my naming inspiration for this blog…Cosmos and Cardigans! I love a good Cosmopolitan. Of course we all know where the love of this luscious libation comes from – Sex and the City and Miss Carrie Bradshaw herself. As a fan of this series from the very beginning, I was always able to see a little bit of myself in Carrie, namely her obsession with all things fashion, clothes and of course those Manolos!

As for the best cosmo I’ve ever had…that’s got to be at The French Laundry in Fenton, Michigan. (Really, you might ask…not some exotic locale?) Nope, right here in good old Michigan. Jon the bartender over at the Laundry makes the meanest cosmo on the planet, and that’s because it doesn’t involve typical ingredients. He uses fruit for flavor, mostly lime juice, which gives it a bit of a sweet yet sour taste – and it is delish!

And now on to Cardigans… As you can see from the picture, I’ve got quite the collection. As far as style goes, it’s a classic – I don’t think the cardi will ever go out of style…at least I hope not, or I’m up the creek (or crick, for my Western PA peeps). You can wear them a variety of ways: buttoned with a belt over top for a very modern and sophisticated look; unbuttoned with a cami or cute top underneath for a layered look; or even over a dress to create an added punch of color.

The best cardi on the market has to be the (oh so aptly named) Jackie Cardigan from J. Crew. This perfect little number comes in a rainbow of colors, washes like a dream (although I recommend Dryel – get a coupon here), and is priced at $62 retail. But the savvy fashionista always waits until it goes on sale, and then waits for there to be an extra 30% off the sale price! I recently snagged the most beautiful shade of purple for about $20 bucks.

And don’t forget about the J. Crew Factory Store – they also sell the Jackie Cardigan! The factory version usually doesn’t feature the pearlized buttons, but also comes in a nice variety of colors based on the current season, and is priced at $49.50. But these regularly go 40% off the factory price, so waiting for a sale is worth it.

I hope you liked my first post…there’s lots more fun to come! Let me know what you think in the comments, or email me at cosmosandcardigans@gmail.com.

xoxo,
Jackie

